Reading Manto: 00

My love for writing was bugging me so much that I was not able to write.
It was really funny that how I wanted to write, desperately… something, anything… but i did not know how to start it. I will pick up a pen and diary, and suddenly i will feel thirsty and run to the kitchen, on the way back to my room there is a mirror  and everyone knows what happens when a girl passes by a mirror…pff… every priority changes… I noticed a small pimple on my face… i went close to mirror and checked how bad is it… i wanted to pinch it but then i thought it will leave a mark… and then i noticed black heads on y nose.. ohh my god… i have to go for a facial or a clean up… ahhh….

Shitt!!! i am suppose to write..

Okay.. okay.. the facial can wait… i have to write…

So writing is not easy… I thought of reading then… I love hindi writers… so much that i can read their work in english also….
I got two fat books on manto…his short stories.
So every now and then i read those stories… before i go to sleep… in loo… on break … in trains….all the time…i even bought a small battery LED lamp, so when i go to sleep i can read the stories till my eyes are heavy with the sleep.

So here I go to write about the dream writer of all the wanna be indian film, writing, theatre and critic, including me for sure.

I have heard of Manto but I never read him, i have heard that he is quite a drama and very open in terms of writing. So it happened one day one of my NID acquaintance asked me to work on her student film, called Khusia based on a story about Sahadat hassan Manto.
I did that film and liked the story, though it was not completely how Manto has written it, somewhat inspired from his many stories and named after one of his character.

Leave a Reply

